LENsemble Vilnius


Musicians on the recording

LENsemble Vilnius
Rusnė Mataitytė - solo violin
Andrius Žiūra - solo clarinet
Vykintas Baltakas - conductor

As contemporary music is the source and the goal of all LENsemble’s (Lithuanina Ensemble Network) activities, discovering new music is what drives all its members. This shared passion paired with the highest professionalism makes LEN one of the strongest player in the Lithuanian contemporary music scene. Initiated by composer and conductor Vykintas Baltakas, LENsemble connects the strongest Lithuanian collectives and soloists, such as the Chordos String Quartet, Kristupas Wind Quintet, Kaskados Piano Trio, Rusnė Mataitytė, Raimondas Sviackevičius and others. In 2009 LENsemble started presenting exciting new music in the home country and promoting Lithuanian works abroad. This Album summarizes LENsemble’s most interesting events and documents its best recordings. As the titel suggest, the album represents a broad spectrum of aesthetically, stylistically and geographically different music: a wide horizont of musical interests. The upcoming releases will be devoted to specific composers, schools and themes.

Recording track list

1. Osvaldas Balakauskas (*1937). Rain for Cracow (1991) 12:13

for violin and piano

2. Luciano Berio (1925–2003). Lied (1983) 5:02

for clarinet solo

3. Amr Okba (*1972). Integration (2010) 5:55

for flute, violin, viola (cello) and piano

4. George Maciunas (Jurgis Mačiūnas) (1931–1978). Music for everyman (1961) 4:11

5. Vykintas Baltakas (*1972). Sinfonia (1996) 3:25

for ensemble

6. Bronius Kutavičius (*1932). Clocks of the Past II (2000) 17:04

for ensemble

7. Vykintas Baltakas (*1972). Eine kleine Nachtmusik (2013) 6:18

for violin solo

8. Matthias Pintsc her (*1971). Svelto (2006) 9:26

for violin, cello and piano

9. Wolfgang Rihm (*1952). Am Horizont. Stille Szene (1991) 5:50

for violin, cello and accordion


NoBusiness Records NBCC 3
Release year - 2021

Credits and release info

  • Recorded in 2012-2020
  • Compiling and editing by Rima Povilionienė
  • Photos Arcana Femina
  • Design by Neringa Žukauskaitė
  • After www.musicperformers.lt | www.triokaskados.lt | www.mic.lt | www.matthiaspintscher.com | www.universaledition.com
  • The release of this recording was supported by the Lithuanian Council for Culture
  • Producer Vykintas Baltakas
  • Sound Engineer Arūnas Zujus