Convergence Quartet - Slow and Steady

Featuring: Taylor Ho Bynum | Alexander Hawkins | Dominic Lash | Harris Eisenstadt

Musicians on the recording

Taylor Ho Bynum - cornet
Alexander Hawkins - piano
Dominic Lash - double bass
Harris Eisenstadt - drums

Recording track list

1. Assemble / Melancholy 4:11
2. Third Convergence 13:49
3. Remember Raoul / Piano Part Two 8:53
4. Equals / Understand (Totem) 5:47
5. Oat Roe + Three by Three 7:18
6. The Taff End 7:15
7. Slow and Steady 3:56
NoBusiness Records NBCD 53
Release year - 2013

Credits and release info

  • Recorded live at the Vortex Jazz Club, Sunday November 13th 2011 as part of the London Jazz Festival by Alex Bonney
  • Taylor Ho Bynum (Thobulous Music), Harris Eisenstadt (Socan/Heresy Music), Alexander Hawkins (Big Life/In All Seriousness Music Ltd.) and Dominic Lash (PRS)
  • Harris Eisenstadt plays Istanbul Agop cymbals
  • Photos by by Peter Gannushkin / DOWNTOWNMUSIC.NET, except photo of Alexander Hawkins by Edu Hawkins
  • Mixed by Alex Bonney and Alexander Hawkins
  • Mastered by Arūnas Zujus at MAMAstudios
  • Design by Oskaras Anosovas 
  • Produced by Convergence Quartet and Danas Mikailionis
  • Co-producer - Valerij Anosov

Reviews and articles


Peter Margasak

The third and best album by this nimble transatlantic jazz band (cornetist Taylor Ho Bynum is American, drummer Harris Eisenstadt is Canadian, and bassist Dominic Lash and pianistAlexander Hawkins, one of the most exciting keyboardists in improvised music, are both British) applies the distinctive musical personalities of first-rate improvisers to a series of detailed, structured compositions written by all four members. The songs veer in and out of postbop but maintain a single cogent sound. Eisenstadt's multi­partite "Third Convergence," for example, opens with knotty freebop rambling, then suddenly melts into a gorgeous ballad sequence, where Hawkins injects subtly sour, beautifully lyrical harmonies and Bynum plays a plush, radiant solo—and that's only halfway through the tune. Moods and styles shift from track to track, but no matter the territory, the musicians dissolve the gap between their jazz foundations and their predilection for abstraction. Few recordings I've heard in the past couple years have so vividly collided extended technique and pure-sound exploration with melody and crisp swing.

Convergence Quartet - Slow and Steady -

Shipping worldwide - 5 €