Frictions / Frictions Now

Featuring: Michael Sell | Dieter Scherf | Gerhard König | Wolfgang Schlick

Musicians on the recording

Michael Sell – trumpet
Dieter Scherf – alto saxophone, oboe, piano, shepherds flute, shenai, prepared trumpet, bamboo flute
Gerhard König – guitar, prepared guitar, flute, double flute
Wolfgang Schlick – drums, metal

Recording track list

1. Frictions 37:32
2. Frictions Now Part I 17:16
3. Frictions Now Part II 18:35
NoBusiness Records NBCD 79
Release year - 2015

Credits and release info

  • Frictions was recorded on July 12, 1969 at Walldorf Studio, Walldorf and released as an edition of 300 vinyl records on a private label in 1969. The same year there was a second edition of 200. Frictions is an uninterrupted piece, which originally consisted of these compositions: Intro For Four (Scherf), Topology (Sell), Töne (Sell), Sounds For M (Scherf), Töne I (Sell), Ballad-Allintervallreihe (Scherf), Peaceless (Scherf)
  • Frictions Now was recorded on July 9, 1971 at the same studio as Frictions. and released as a limited edition of 500 vinyl records on a private label in 1971. Both tracks composed by Michael Sell (GEMA), Dieter Scherf (GEMA), Gerhard König (GEMA) and Wolfgang Schlick (GEMA)
  • Liner notes by Ernst Nebhuth
  • Remastered by Arūnas Zujus at MAMAstudios
  • Final design and booklet layout by Oskaras Anosovas
  • Produced by Danas Mikailionis
  • Co-producer - Valerij Anosov

Reviews and articles

Frictions / Frictions Now -

Shipping worldwide - 3 €